views

What do toddlers see (as in, altitude)?

I tried it for a day. I kneeled to level with my daughter. I kneeled in the park where I took her to play. I kneeled in the food store, albeit for a minute at the detergent isle. I kneeled in the house. For as long as I could. My daughter was strangely happy. Unusual of her, she didn’t beg me to hold her, not once during all my kneeling and wobbling around her. She found a suitable-size friend, I thought, that’s why.
But besides a happy daughter, numb legs, and sore knee caps, I gained a different view.

This kneeling experience urged me to sum it this way:

1) toddlers see nothing but arses or unreachable things.
2) toddlers see details that adults are likely to oversee unintentionally, such as tiny pieces of lint on the floor; unknown brands of detergent (at the detergent isle), the green of the grass and all sorts of bugs (in the park), things even with my small frame (5.3in) I’d miss.
3) being short makes you obviously insignificant – people can’t make eye-contact with you and you’re out of sight.
4) it’s likely that we couldn’t care wholeheartedly about anyone unless we start ‘seeing’ like that anyone, or ‘end up’ like that anyone.

…and this is just one minute example of a different view. I was only trying to understand my kid.
What about other issues?
Other people?
Other situations?
If putting myself in other people’s shoes doesn’t help me teach my kids to empathise, what other way is there?

Leave a Reply

