title

I didn’t know which of these two titles and a half to use for this post:
Archery
The need for a Confucius
Half

So, I decided to stick with the title “title”. And because it’s a free country – or so the expression goes – I can have two subtitles and a half.

Archery
I’d like to propose to the education people to introduce a new subject in schools:
Archery.
To respect Confucius and his ideas, at least.
Confucius, a smart Chinese guy who lived long, long ago, thought that if we teach our children archery they will receive three golden gifts: precision, focus, and discipline.
All – self-explanatory!
The reason why, is what begs for an explanation.
Today media platforms pile up like rubbles from a recurring tsunami. Information pours down in heavy precipitation. In these weather conditions our little frames sway from one piece of news to another – from fashion to famine, from wars to weather reports about faraway places.
Our eyes hop like bunny rabbits from one image to another.
Our minds grind teeth trying to digest the downpour of audio-visual content.
Of course, there is absolutely nothing wrong with all this – it’s all fun and entertaining.
Except for one thing.
And it is that, a young person is untrained
– to endure the impact and influences of information;
– to resist the heartburn from indigested information;
– to maintain focus on the valuable information;
– to convert the valuable information into knowledge.
Unless he or she is given enough time to train for all this – what some people call “childhood”, and in Confucius’s case – training in archery – our kids are likely to go bonkers.
In other words: drown.

Either way, training one’s young mind in either an ancient hunting technique (extra curriculum in school), or training our kids to read 300-page-long pictureless books is a great way to bless them with the gifts of precision, focus, and discipline.

The need for a Confucius
At the time of Confucius, China’s feudalism was in decline.
The rampant disorder and lack of moral standards disturbed Confucius.
What did he know.
The point is that he realised that the only way to teach children was by referring to and preaching the tenets and wisdom of antiquity, of the classics.
And that’s where I thought, I wish I could be a Confucius. Maybe that’s what I’ll aim with this blog.
Just to clarify, I’m not against a disorder, or decline in morals – that’s nothing new to humankind.
Recked values and diminishing moral doesn’t bother me as long as it doesn’t sleep in my house and doesn’t feed my kids.

The way of the world has always called for some form of balance –
where there is black, there is white;
where there is rich, there is poor;
where there is discipline, there is ignorance;
where there is morality, there is decadence.
In that sense, I am not fighting the current conformity, the trends, or the moral gaps.
In fact, thanks to these, I realise just how important it is to save in me the sage and sense of classics – from stories to sciences, from art to archery – and pass these to my kids, because classics have been one heck of a currency that never devalued, defaulted, or disappeared.

Half

This is just half a paragraph because of my half-done job.
Wanting to be a Confucius is a hard task.
And not only because that means wanting to be an ancient Chinese farmer.
It’s a hard task, because I have to “practice what I preach and preach what I practice”, as Confucius himself has put it.
So, I better get started and get back to those classics and sciences (and finish the other half of this aphorism – “practice what I preach”).

3 thoughts on “title

  1. Pingback: theatre « what I would teach my kids

Leave a Reply

