humour

Can we create a timeline of the life of humour in human beings? Along with the level of it during each time bracket, where 1 will be”none” and 10 will be “hysterically funny”?

0-12 years
Humour is born and develops up to a certain level 4. With parents working in the Circus, maybe it’ll get to level 6.

13- 17 years
Humour gets pink hair dye, piercings, tattoos (in some cases), daily dozes of sarcasm and roller coaster mood swings;
The level is -1, or 0 if one is to count sarcasm as humour

18-27 years
Humour gets a little educated on sit-coms, maybe some university, but continues to swing from one relationship to another job rejection.
The level is hardly 2. Again, if the parents work in the Circus or are Tina Fay, it may go up to a 4.

28-47 years
Humour settles down. It gets knocked up and knocked down by, most likely, humourless stuff like kids, mortgage and having to share a bathroom with the opposite sex.
The level of humour in itself is unpredictable. However, knowing the level of humour could predict if the couple will divorce or stay together.

48-60 years
Humour gets a face-lift. It makes an effort to get to a stronger level, more like a 7

60-90+(shall I add Jeanne Calment’s 122+?)
Humour is in its pinnacle. Level 10 and counting.

And now to the point.
Jeanne Calment from Arles, France, was the oldest woman in the world who died at the age of 122. She was famous first for her age and second for her (witty) humour.

The London Times once published an article about the positive relationship between humour and age. The older you get, the funnier you become (anyway you look at it, sane or senile). Jeanne Calment was one of the examples of how old people have great sense of humour. Becoming quite the news around the world, Jeanne would often be chased by journalists, to which she once said, “I’ve waited 110 years to be famous, I count on taking advantage of it,” and “I wait for death… and journalists.” In one of her birthday parties, somebody, on his way out said to Jeanne, “until next year, perhaps” to which she quipped: “I don’t see why not! You don’t look so bad to me.” And to how she looked, she said “I’ve never had but one wrinkle, and I’m sitting on it.”

And here I am in this blog, trying to figure out the humour way of looking at things;
Trying to find my humour and humour everything I find.
But it’s just so hard.

So, here’s one for me this time (and for other volunteer parents/non-parents, too), not for my kids:
Find humour as often as possible, starting with one about myself.
I have the feeling that my inner clown will be a better parent.

Leave a Reply

