family fridges

On our way out of the gym my husband, daughter, son, three haversacks and I, stopped over at the reception area to buy energy bars.
No. The kids didn’t work out at the gym.
They were at the gym creche.
No. The energy bars weren’t for my kids, nor for me (having another kid inside me).
They were for my husband.
So much clarification for one starting line.

My man joked with the gym receptionists why ‘daddy needs his energy bar’ even though it’s approaching evening. I mean, in the evening, people usually begin to wind down in preparation for sweet dreams.
Alas, for people like my husband and I, it’s more like winding all possible ways until it swerves into the bedroom some time after midnight.
Unless I have ironing to do.

And then it hit me.
Family fridges!
Young families – that’s people with young kids (the parents can be as old as Anthony Quinn) – need to have two fridges, if possible.

One, which will be the family fridge with all the silly healthy stuff and lots of milk, and one, which will be the survivor’s fridge.
The way it is wise for every house to have a first-aid kit, it is wiser still for a young family to install that second fridge.

Its ingredients will be the following:
1. cans of Red Bull or other energy drinks
2. chocolate – dark chocolate as healthier option
3. energy bars
4. energy smoothies
5. ice coffee
6. ice caffeinated tea
7. caffeinated water – if there isn’t, here’s your business idea
8. power snacks

Yes, dangerously poisonous ingredients for a mini fridge, but one must find a way to survive.

Not only that, this second fridge, I have the feeling, will serve us well into the rest of our lives.
I could replace it with a plain drawer after my kids graduate – where I’ll keep a similar concoction of boosters, stabilisers, and tranquillisers but in a pharmaceutical form, which won’t need cooling.

This post is just for fun.
For parents.
Those who have any energy left, anyway.

I guess parenthood is like a workout at the gym.
And it sounds as exciting in the beginning, in both cases.
You walk in it voluntarily (even when you unexpectedly become a parent, it’s still up to you to get involved).
You can walk out of it voluntarily, too.
Once you’re in though, you can work-out many levels – basics, intermediary, advanced.
You can push yourself really hard every day, all the time, and run to the special mini-fridge every now and again, to reboot.
You can take it easy.
Or, you can try and balance.

Energy bars aren’t really the solution to anything, because you need a lifetime of energy to make sure your kids become serious, responsible adults.
This is just my way of looking at everything in a fun way.
Laugh it.
Even when I’m dead tired.

Leave a Reply

